the sandwich club

Cowbridge Food Festival, Cowbridge

Posted in Features by thesandwichclub on November 1, 2009

The Sandwich Club took time out to explore the delights of  Cowbridge Food Festival. The venison burgers were very tasty, and is a really healthy meat. One clubber went for the lamb burger but was slightly disappointed. Wessex Pantry was a highlight. We tried their mini game pie and pork pies.  Here are some snaps of the day:

Programme

Rules for eating

Venison Stall

Venison Burger:

Venison Burger

Some nice loaves

Personally, I find pickled eggs look a bit evil:

Pickled product

Cheese Tent

The remains of the hog roast

And of course many a good real ale was consumed. Chocs Away was very good with a hint of chocolate to it:

Pint of Chocs Away

Let us know if you went too!

http://www.cowbridgefoodanddrink.org

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lt Meat said, on November 1, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Hello Sandwich Club!!!

    I must add to this entry and say that I had a nice time experiencing the professional work of The Sandwich Clubbers first hand at Cowbridge Food Festival. Good work guys!! My lamb burger was okay too, but the venison did look better! Instead I bought a venison salami that I haven’t yet eaten. I might put it in a sandwich………..or a bun of some type.

    I also had the pleasure of tasting possibly the best real ale I’ve ever had. I’ve been to a lot of food and drink festivals this year and none of the ales I’ve tasted have come anywhere near the quality of the Bullmastiff Brewery’s ‘Welsh Black’. Nick Griffin wouldn’t like it because he’s a twat, but I really did. It was a dark ale with strong sweet black cherry and dark chocolate flavours and, unlike some small brewery dark ales and stouts, it wasn’t too bitter on the aftertaste. It was like drinking a pint of black forest gateaux, errrr maybe.

    I’m definitely going to have to drink some more of this particular ale in the future, as well as trying out some of the other ales in the Bullmastiff range. They’re a Cardiff based brewery and I’m thinking the next local real ale fest is going to have to be attended for some more of this fine ale. RECOMMENDED ***** Bullmastiff ‘Welsh Black’.

    I’ve tried to find a link to the Bullmastif Website but I can’t find one go here instead http://www.camra.org.uk/page.aspx?o=100488

    Enjoy!!!

    Lt Meat

    • sandwichclub said, on November 5, 2009 at 12:53 pm

      Great stuff indeed. People should definately try out some more real ales from this fine company!


Leave a Reply

