the sandwich club

Deli Rouge

Posted in Reviews by thesandwichclub on January 27, 2010

It’s Saturday morning, my first Sandwich Club. I wake up and find myself instantaneously salivating at the thought of diminishing a two day hangover. I am almost tempted by marmite on toast but this would be like cheating on the sandwich club so opt out of impure carb thoughts and head out to meet the other tSC participants.

As we begin to deliberate as to where our field trip will be held today, I can’t help but pray to some fictitious sandwich god in hope of a cure for this god awful, brain shriveling hangover. I then realize I am being consumed by hunger and slightly worry about my moment of utter delirium and quickly get myself together and finish my tea..

Don’t be fooled by the name, deli rouge is in no way affiliated to the chain, café rouge. This hidden gem surrounded by rows of terraced housing on Mackintosh place hosts some of the finest sliced meats, cheeses, chutneys and baklava that Cardiff has to offer. The cold weather meant that suitable clothing was required for the walk. Scarf loosened and gloves removed and I open the door to the scent of freshly baked bread sitting in a basket at the front of the counter. I look up and become amazed at the menu. In fact, the menu was so extensive that ordering became an ordeal due to an awful combination of indecision and extreme hunger.

Four members took on the challenge of deli rouge, which included:

Sandwich of the day – goats cheese, pastrami, pesto and Sun blushed tomatoes. £3.40
Spanish fiesta – spicy Spanish chorizo topped with manchego cheese and spicy Mediterranean tomato chutney – £3.10
Hot and spicy – Spanish chorizo with chilli and garlic relish and red devil chilli cheese. Hot – £3.10
Fruit cake and baklava for dessert.

There was a moment of silence when our sandwiches arrived at our table followed by ‘oooing’ and ‘ahhhing’, everyone looked at each others plate and hoped that we wouldn’t have a moment of food envy. We didn’t. The attention to detail that took place in the selection of our sandwiches was very well considered and therefore everyone was satisfied with their choice.

I can’t even express how wondrous the taste was. The feeling was mutual amongst us all. I had the sandwich of the day, – Tres Bon Café Rouge!! I think this could be the best sandwich I have ever eaten… Slight exaggeration, I think not. My words may sound a little over the top yet I challenge you to find a better sandwich fix in Cardiff. I assure you this will be a task in itself…

11/10 from me. Actually, I don’t think this is allowed but you get my point….

Rating

Price:                     2/4

Taste:                    4/4

Look:                     3.5 /4

Service:                3.5/4

Originality:          3.5/4

Score: 16.5/20

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mikerhysbrown said, on January 28, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Haven’t been to that place for years, but it’s an absolute gem! Have you been to Madame Fromage in town?

    • sandwichclub said, on January 29, 2010 at 12:05 am

      We are aware of Madame fromage and it will be getting a visit from the club in the near future. Do you have any recommendations from there?


Leave a Reply

