the sandwich club

The Mighty Cone, South Congress, Austin, TX

Posted in Reviews by thesandwichclub on March 31, 2010

Yeah, it’s food in a cone but at least part of it came between two pieces of bread so I’m counting it as a sandwich.  Also, there was ice cream reviewed on here recently, that is so cheating y’all.

Earlier in the day I’d probably had some kind of meat and cheese starter and later that evening I believe I had a dessert containing meat and cheese, we’re going to concentrate on the meat and cheese course though.  It looked like this.

It is called a Slider.  I don’t really know why, it looked like a burger to me.  A perfectly formed delicious small burger made of beef in a lightly toasted bun covered in lovely American magic melty cheese and containing some things I had yet to see that week in Texas.  I think they were vegetables.  I dug deep in my memory and recognised them as tomato, red onion and lettuce. 

I never thought I’d say this but the slider (burger) was perfectly cooked, they took a little while preparing it, longer than say, my local leisure centre (this is the only other place that has served me a meal in cones) but it was worth it.  It actually melted in my mouth and the secret Texan burger sauce had the right balance of spiciness and creaminess. The service itself actually only loses a point for me having to wait outside when it was windy.  This may seem a tad harsh but it would be unfair on indoor competition otherwise.  I’m nothing if not fair.  It blew over a couple’s food and everything.

I’ve not even mentioned the chilli fries yet.  Why don’t more establishments serve these?  They’re brilliant.  You know, chips, like dusted in chilli power.  Oh so simple and oh so beautiful. 

The only slightly confusing thing about this meal was that the small tub of salsa that came with it tasted slightly of tomato rather than fire.  Texans seem well up for eating hot salsa with everything at any time of day.  Even with the omelette type thing I had for breakfast the day before.  Madness.

The bonus part of this meal is that it clearly isn’t fried.  Look, it says on the van.  This means it’s healthy.  Probably.

Scores:

Price: 3

Taste: 4

Look: 3.5

Service: 3

Originality: 1.5 (it was a cheese burger in all but name)

 Total: 15

Matthew L Jarrett

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. delta said, on March 31, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Looks like a pretty handsome slider. I notice the blog seems to be extending the reaches of Cardiff too. Is this something that will be continued? Keep up the good work

    • sandwichclub said, on April 3, 2010 at 6:54 pm

      Its not our intention to move away from Cardiff but something that has naturally evolved from visiting other places. Theres a few new posts to come soon and again not from the Cardiff area.

  2. suzanne said, on April 1, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Matt, they are called sliders because they are mini, cute and “slide” right into your mouth. If I must eat there, I only have the sliders, I do not eat the Chicken Cone at the “Meh Cone.” It tastes like drywall to me. Cheers,

  3. jake said, on April 7, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Wow. I’ve never seen this place, and I live in Austin. That’s sad. Nice review! As far as I’ve understood, a slider is basically a mini-hamburger. But agreed; I don’t know why they’re called that. Maybe something to do with that infomercial by Billy Mays. Crazy. Look forward to reading more soon,
    j


Leave a Reply

