the sandwich club

I’m a celebrity, buy my food

Posted in News by thesandwichclub on January 5, 2011

I don’t tend to pick up on products that are steeped in endorsements from celebrities and such, and in the case of Jamie Oliver’s food product range this is certainly the case. Don’t get me wrong, its not that I dislike the man but it all smells a bit like another money making venture.

On a recent trip to a supermarket (also endorsed by Mr Oliver) I came across a few items from the product range. Trying to look past his face branded on the packaging I started reading the labels. Slightly impressed and combining the fact that the few items I picked up were on offer I purchased the tellicherry black peppercorns and a jar of green pesto.The tellicherry black peppercorns are grown along India’s Malabar Coast. With a very fruity scent these peppercorns are a welcomed change to the standard black peppercorn. The green pesto is made of crushed basil, pine nuts and parmesan cheese. It is certainly the nicest off-the-shelf green pesto I have used. The parmesan hits your nose straight from the jar but is not too strong to overpower the subtleties of the basil.

Food tip: Combine both to make a sublime sandwich. I picked up some fresh wholemeal seeded bagels, lightly toasted and spread on some of the pesto. Added a few slices of Bavarian ham; some chopped sundried tomatoes, a handful of rocket and then a sprinkling of the tellicherry pepper. (I forgot to take a photo, so here is a picture of some wholemeal bagels).

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gina said, on January 5, 2011 at 11:04 am

    love those cookies…give me the recipe 😀

  2. kathryn said, on January 6, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    you are my hero


Leave a Reply

